Daniel Fox

Daniel Fox is a composer and a mathematician whose music has been performed by Either/Or and the Momenta Quartet, and pianist Imri Talgam. His compositions have been described as “strongly imagined” (Alex Ross, The New Yorker). Fox’s piano improvisations were featured in Gabriela Vainsencher’s limited edition video, Reconstruction, which premiered at the Musée d’art moderne André Malraux, Le Havre, France and is held in the museum’s permanent collection.

Fox holds a PhD (2005) in Mathematics from Duke University and subsequently worked as a National Science Foundation International Research Fellow at Oxford University. He is currently a PhD candidate in composition at The Graduate Center, CUNY, where he studies composition with Suzanne Farrin and Jason Eckardt. His previous composition teachers include Phillip Cooke, Andrew McPherson, Maurice Wright, Jan Krzywicki, and Matthew Greenbaum. He has studied flamenco guitar in Seville with Juan del Gastor.

His research in music and mathematics has appeared in Perspectives of New Music, Communications in Analysis and Geometry, and The Transactions of the American Mathematics Society. His dissertation research investigates moments of unusual materiality in music and sound. He has taught undergraduate music classes at Baruch College and Williams College and mathematics classes at UC Irvine, Duke University, Temple University, and the Community College of Philadelphia.

Study of a piano #1 (2015), for solo piano
Imri Talgam, piano

The latest sighs of mortality (2016), for violin and electronics
Daniel Fox, violin

The Breakup
Video by Gabriela Vainsencher
Music performed by the Momenta Quartet